ISGS PhD Thesis Award 2020 – a message from Professor Verónica de Zea Bermudez

Each year, the International Sol-Gel Society (ISGS) Board awards a prize to the student who has produced the best PhD thesis and made the most outstanding contribution to scientific and/or technological knowledge in the field of sol-gel chemistry and related domains.

The winner will receive a diploma, a two-year ISGS membership, and a selection of books from Springer. In addition, he/she will be invited to contribute a paper to the Journal of Sol-Gel Science and Technology, the official journal of the ISGS.


2018 ISGS Thesis Prize – Francesca Tallia

2019 ISGS Thesis Prize (1st Place) – Valentin Smeets

2019 ISGS Thesis Prize (2nd Place) – Albane Birault

2019 ISGS Thesis Prize (3rd Place) – Junho Jang


The deadline for submission of applications for the ISGS PhD Thesis Award competition has now been extended to March 26, 2021. For further information please visit