The ISGS PhD Thesis Award Prize for 2022 goes to…

The ISGS PhD Thesis Award, first launched in 2018, was created to distinguish PhD theses representing outstanding contributions to scientific and/or technological knowledge in the field of sol-gel chemistry and related fields.

The Ph.D. Award Committee for the 2022 competition was composed of Professor Masahide Takahashi, Professor Benoît Heinrichs, and Professor Marco Faustini.

The members of the PhD Award Committee examined the eight applications received, which were all of extremely high quality. All the candidates presented very strong summaries, reflecting very advanced and well-performed Thesis works.

In the present edition, the overall ranking obtained by the members of the Committee placed Dr. Mathias Stanzel top of the list. Dr. Anshul Yadav and Dr. Ann-Kathrin Koopmann placed second and third, respectively.

Dr. Mathias Stanzel’s Ph.D. thesis, entitled “Mesoporous film architectures and step gradient formation”, was defended at Ernst-Berl-Institut für Technische und Makromolekulare Chemie, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Darmstadt (Germany).

Dr. Anshul Yadav’s Ph.D. thesis, entitled “Membrane distillation process for high saline and wastewater treatment”, was defended at the Academy of Scientific and Innovative Research, Ghaziabad (India).

Dr. Ann-Kathrin Koopmann’s Ph.D. thesis, entitled “Porous Materials Made of Polyphenolic Tannin”, was defended at Paris Lodron University of Salzburg (Austria).

For the Gold Medal, the Ph.D. Award Committee would like to emphasize that the candidate made an excellent and original contribution to the fabrication of sophisticated sol-gel-derived mesoporous films by achieving great control of the spatial position of the chemical functions. He mastered and successfully applied a broad variety of methods for the characterization including optical and electrochemical methods to probe the transport of molecules in well-defined mesoarchitectures.

As Gold Medal, Silver Medal and Bronze Medal winners of the Ph.D. Thesis Award 2022, Dr. Mathias Stanzel, Dr. Anshul Yadav and Dr. Ann-Kathrin Koopmann will receive a diploma and a 2-year ISGS membership.

Thanks to Springer sponsoring, they will receive books in the value of US$500, US$400, and US$300, respectively.

Moreover, they will be invited to contribute with a paper to the Journal of Sol-Gel Science and Technology, the official journal of ISGS.

The Board of Directors of the ISGS and the ISGS PhD Thesis Award Committee wish to warmly congratulate the three awardees.