The October in Sol-Gel (and Materials Chemistry) History

Svante Arrhenius
(Died 1 October 1927): Swedish physicist/chemist who was one of the founders of the discipline of “physical chemistry”. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1903 “in recognition of the extraordinary services he has rendered to the advancement of chemistry by his electrolytic theory of dissociation”. He also studied the effects of temperature on reaction kinetics and was one of the first to estimate the impact of atmospheric CO 2on the increasing surface temperature of the earth (see Nobel Prize in 1903, Svante Arrhenius – Biographical, Article,Svante Arrhenius)

Henri-Louis Le Chatelier
(Born 8 October 1850): French chemist who is best known for proposing “Le Chatelier’s Principle”, which enables the effect of a change in temperature, pressure, concentration of reactants, etc on a chemical reaction to be predicted. His principle has proven invaluable in the chemical industry for optimising chemical processes such as the production of ammonia. His other contributions include the design of a platinum/ rhodium thermocouple for measuring high temperatures in 1887 (see LeChatelier-Bio, (click here), ).

Max Von Laue
(born 9 October 1879): German physicist who discovered the diffraction of X-rays by crystals, leading to the later work of William and Lawrence Bragg which established the technique of crystallography. This discovery, for which Von Laue was awarded the 1914 Nobel Prize in Physics, is often regarded as the origin of the discipline of solid state physics (see ,, October.html).

For more details please click here