> ISGS Awards and Grants during Sol-Gel 2013

Life Achievement Award 2013

david avnir

Professor David Avnir, distinguished recipient of the Life Achievement Award – 2013.

David Avnir is a Chemistry Professor at the Hebrew University where he received all his academic education, and is currently the Head of the Authority for Graduate Students in the Experimental Sciences, after ending his duties as Head of the Institute of Chemistry. His current scientific activities include organically doped metals, theoretical and experimental aspects of chirality, theoretical studies in symmetry, and sol-gel organic hybrid materials and biomaterials. Earlier major interests included fractal theory in chemistry and physics, and far-from-equilibrium phenomena such as chemically driven hydrodynamic instabilities. He has co-authored 350 papers, and holds several key-patents in the sol-gel area and in the new field of organically doped metals. His publications have about 14,000 citations (without self-citations) in about 9000 articles, with H=60 (ISI, 2013). He was the first Chairman of the Board of the International Sol-Gel Society (2003-2007) and is a co-founder of Sol-Gel Technologies, Inc. His latest recognitions are the Israel Chemical Society Prize (2011), and his placement on the the Hebrew University’s “Wall of the Innovators Way” (2012).


Donald R. Ulrich Award 2013

Dr. Yusuke Daiko has been awarded for the high quality of his very active work in the central field of sol-gel (including ionic conduction from the viewpoint of physical chemistry or physics) and his numerous publications. His main activity is devoted to Sol-Gel organic-inorganic hybrids using layer-by-layer (LbL) assembly techniques for developing new types of materials for ionic conductors and photo-functional materials with many important contributions. He has worked on high proton-conducting glasses for low-T fuel cell electrolytes and has a quite impressive 66 publications in ISI international journals as first author. He has experienced several institutes including Rutgers in the US (Prof. L. Klein) and in Japan (with Prof. Matsuda), which indicates his wide viewpoints on sol-gel science and the importance of his work for applications (novel proton conducting electrolytes and membranes for high performance fuel cells) for which he already got several awards.

Presently he is working as an assistant professor at Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan and continuing active works, from which his further contribution to sol-gel science in the future is promising.

ISGS Best Poster Awards 2013

4 Best Posters were selected during the poster sessions, for both the scientific quality of the work and the presentation of the scientific information on the poster. Through this Prize the ISGS wants to highlight the work of young researchers.

  • Hierarchically porous Li4Ti5O12 monoliths with flower-like surface modification for lithium ion secondary batteries
    George Hasegawa,1 Kazuyoshi Kanamori,2 Kazuki Nakanishi,2 Takeshi Abe1
    1Dept of Engineering, Kyoto University; 2Dept of Science, Kyoto University (JAPAN)
  • Hybrid coatings derived from pyromellitic and S-triazine bridged silylalkyl precursors
    Stefan Pfeifer, Edwin Kroke
    TU Bergakademie Freiberg (GERMANY)
  • Encapsulation of microalgae in silica and their potential use as bioreactors for synthesis of metallic nanoparticles
    Cecilia Spedalieri, Matias Jobbagy, Sara A. Bilmes
  • Hierarchical nested winkle structures with stimuli-response on silica-polymer hybrid films
    Kazumasa Suzuki, Yasuaki Takudome, Masahide Takahashi
    Osaka Prefecture University (JAPAN)

Student Travel Grants 2013

The awardees for ISGS Travel Grant have been selected:
Carmen Carrasquilla from McMaster University, Hamilton in Canada will present her work on “Inkjet Printing of Sol-Gel Entrapped Aptamer Bioinks for Paper-Based Sensor Development”
Christiane Müller from University of Applied Sciences Bielefeld and Technical University Freiberg in Germany, will present her work on “Synthesis of transparent aminosilane-derived silica based networks for immobilization of sensitive materials” and also on “Immobilization of light‐harvesting complexes with a novel sol‐gel synthesis method”

Congratulations to both of them !