Sol-Gel 2019
Join us on Facebook

Let's get the latest information of ISGS and communicate with related people!!

ISGS Membership

Become a member of the International Sol-Gel Society and get access to a wide range of benefits. Click here.

> Ulrich Award 2017



Call for Ulrich Award 2017

Donald R. Ulrich Award recognizes outstanding contributions in sol-gel processes made by young researchers. The Award granted in remembrance of Prof. Dr. Donald R. Ulrich is given since 1991 during the International Sol-Gel Conference.

The awardee/s will receive a Diplome, and will present his/her work when receiving the Award at the ISGS Conference. The awardee/s will be exempted of Conference registration fee.


Eligible candidates

The candidate must be member of ISGS by 3rd September 2017 (the first day of Sol-Gel2017 conference).

The candidate must be active in sol-gel research.  The time elapsed from his/her thesis defense must be less than 10 years to the date of application.


Call for nominations

The call for nominations will be posted on the ISGS website in November of the year previous to the ISGS Conference. The deadline for nomination will be announced at the same time.



Application should be sent by mail to the ISGS This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Candidates must provide

i) CV (in which a date of thesis defense should be specified)

ii) List of publications

iii) Brief description of his/her present and future involvement in sol-gel.

iv) Two recommendation letters


Selection of candidates

A distinguished advisor committee lead by a delegated person will propose to the ISGS Board a selection of candidates on the basis of their contributions to the field and projection to the future. The last Life Achievement and a previous Ulrich Awardee will be members of the Committee.

The ISGS Board will announce the name/s of awardee/s 90 days before the International Sol-Gel Conference.


Call 2017

Deadline for application March 15th 2017   ****EXTENDED****

Chair of Selection Committee: Prof. David Avnir

Announcement of awardees: June 5th 2017


Please direct enquiries to Sara Aldabe Bilmes,

e-mail:  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Past awardees

ISGS Partners